## IFLA Governing Board election results 2007-2009

In the elections for the new IFLA Governing Board, the following candidates were successful: Gunnar Sahlin (Sweden) (2nd term), Barbara Schleihagen (Germany), Bob McKee (United Kingdom) (2nd term), Barbara J. Ford (United States) (2nd term), Réjean Savard (Canada) (2nd term), Danielle Mincio (Switzerland), Zhang Xiaolin (China) (2nd term), Helena Asamoah-Hassan (Ghana), Joaquín Selgas Gutiérrez (Spain), Pascal Sanz (France).

They will serve a two-year term on the Governing Board, beginning at the end of the Durban conference in August.

Barbara Schleihagen, Danielle Mincio, Helena Asamoah-Hassan, Joaquín Selgas Gutiérrez, and Pascal Sanz will be serving on the board for the first time.

## The full results are:

- Gunnar Sahlin (Sweden) (2nd term) 1185 votes - elected
- Barbara Schleihagen (Germany) 1169 - elected
- Bob McKee (United Kingdom) (2nd term) 1164 - elected
- Barbara J. Ford (United States) (2nd term) 1158 - elected
- Réjean Savard (Canada) (2nd term) 1131 - elected
- Danielle Mincio (Switzerland) 1081 - elected
- Zhang Xiaolin (China) (2nd term) 1032 - elected
- Helena Asamoah-Hassan (Ghana) 1025 - elected
- Joaquín Selgas Gutiérrez (Spain) 991 - elected
- Pascal Sanz (France) 940 - elected
- Dong Youl Jeong 849 – not elected

The total number of valid ballot papers received for the vacancies on the Governing Board was 517, a return rate of 42%. This represents 1861 votes, 58% of the possible total.

Two members of staff of the Royal Library of the Netherlands, P.J. Moree and J.J.M. Bos, acted as scrutineers.

Peter Johan Lor Secretary General Latest Revision: 27 June 2007

Copyright © International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions

www.ifla.org