IFLA’s Governing Board (GB) is responsible for the management of the Federation, as set out in IFLA’s Statutes.

The IFLA GB consists of eleven members – three elected officers (President, President-elect, and Treasurer), three ex officio members (Chair of the Professional Council, Regional Council, and Management of Library Associations Sections), and five elected members-at-large. The Secretary General acts as Secretary of the Governing Board.

The GB meets at least three times a year, and is advised by the Professional Council, the Regional Council, and four Advisory Committee.