Does my Library have to be a member of IFLA to enter the IFLA/Baker & Taylor Public Library of the Year Award?

No. Entry is open to any public library that is either newly built, have added a significant addition, that has transformed the existing library or been established in premises, that have not previously been used for libraries. To come into consideration the library must have been completed and opened in the period from 1 January 2023 to 31 December 2023.

It is not necessary for the library to be a member of IFLA (though you might like to consider joining!)

Does it cost anything to enter?

No, entry is free, but please ensure that you complete the application in full and with the requested attached files of floorplans and photos of your library, to be considered for the award.

If you are lucky to be one of the shortlisted for the award, we hope you will join the award ceremony in person.

Is the Award only open to Public Libraries?

We know that everyone would love to be involved, but at this stage the award is only for Public Libraries

When do Nominations close?

Nominations close on Friday 28 June 2024 at 09:00 (GMT+2). No late entries will be accepted.

Who is sponsoring the award?

Baker & Taylor is the proud new sponsor of the award and is the largest supplier of library content, software, and services to public and academic libraries in the U.S. Their mission is to support libraries in their efforts to serve their communities. Read more at the Baker & Taylor website.

Who judges the Awards?

The jury comprises representatives from the three IFLA Sections, who have partnered with our sponsor, Baker & Taylor, to deliver this award. They are: IFLA’s Public Libraries, Metropolitan Libraries and Library Buildings and Equipment Sections.

The Jury members all have great experience within the public library field and the architectural environment and are geographically dispersed.

When will the Award be announced and presented?

Because the annual IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) 2024 was unfortunately cancelled, we are happy to share that the award will be presented in conjunction with the IFLA Midterm Metropolitan Libraries Conference on “Libraries and Democracy”, which is to take place 7 October 2024 in in Barcelona, Spain.

Shortlisted libraries will be advised and is expected to attend the award ceremony. Travel expenses to the conference are at your own expense.

Tell me more about the Award?

Our sponsor, Baker & Taylor, will give USD 5000 in prize money to the winning library. Shortlisted libraries will receive a certificate.

How do I enter?

Use the online application form to enter, which will be available from Monday 6 May at 09:00 (GMT+2) until 28 June at 09:00 (GMT+2)