UNESCO, IFLA, and IPA have opened the call for nominations for the World Book Capital 2019.

Each year, UNESCO and the international organizations representing the three major sectors of the book industry—the International Publishers Association (IPA), and the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA)—select the World Book Capital for a one-year period, effective 23 April each year.

This initiative, in addition to the celebration of World Book and Copyright Day, represents a collaborative undertaking by key stakeholders in the publishing world and cities to promote books and literacy.

Complete details


  • 2019 call for applications [PDF]
  • Application Form [MS Word]
  • Member States of UNESCO by region [PDF]


  • 2019 appel à candidatures [PDF]
  • formulaire de candidature [MS Word]
  • Liste des états membres de l’UNESCO par région [PDF]

Complete applications including a cover or support letter from the Mayor of the candidate-city and drafted in one of UNESCO Secretariat’s working languages (English or French), should reach UNESCO no later than 15 March 2017. No application received after this date will be taken into consideration.

Current & upcoming World Book Capitals

Past World Book Capitals

Madrid (Spain, 2001), Alexandria (Egypt, 2002), New Delhi (India, 2003), Antwerp (Belgium, 2004), Montreal (Canada, 2005), Turin (Italy, 2006), Bogotá (Colombia, 2007), Amsterdam (Netherlands, 2008), Beirut (Lebanon, 2009), Ljubljana (Slovenia, 2010), Buenos Aires (Argentina, 2011), Yerevan (Armenia, 2012), Bangkok (Thailand, 2013), Port Harcourt (Nigeria, 2014), Incheon (Republic of Korea, 2015)