For the sixth time, Systematic and the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) presents the Public Library of the Year Award, honouring new, innovative public libraries. The jury has narrowed 32 libraries down to five nominees in the quest for this year’s winner.

This year, the five finalists come from very different parts of the world:

  • Marrickville Library
  • Deichman Bjørvika – Oslo Public Library
  • Het Predikheren
  • Ningbo New Library
  • Forum Groningen
    The Netherlands

The winner will be announced during IFLA’s annual congress, held online this year from 17 – 19 August and the award is presented by IFLA President, Christine Mackenzie.

It is a fantastic, strong field of exciting libraries from all over the world. It has been a pleasure for the entire jury to see the development taking place in the library sector in recent years – especially how innovative, technological solutions and sustainability are clear factors in construction processes across the globe.”
Jakob Lærkes
Director of the Gladsaxe Libraries in Denmark and Chairman of the jury

For additional information, see the Sytsematic website.