On the 21st of November 2008, IFLA President Claudia Lux initiated the first NGO Meeting on Convergence. The outcome of this meeting was that IFLA and its sister organizations for archives (ICA), museums (ICOM), monuments and sites (ICOMOS), and the council for audiovisual archives (CCAAA) plan to intensify cooperation in areas such as copyright and other legal matters, protection and preservation of cultural heritage (Blue Shield), global digital libraries, political lobby and standardization.

To support this initiative, IFLA takes up the convergence secretariat for two years. The NGO convergence group can be reached at: convergence@ifla.org.

Overview of meeting dates:

  • 1st meeting: 21 November 2008
  • 2nd meeting: 6 April 2009
  • 3rd Meeting: 3 December 2009
  • 4th meeting: 16 April 2010

For more information, please view the collective communiqué.