IFLA and Brill are pleased to announce the 2015 IFLA/Brill Open Access award.

The IFLA/Brill Open Access award is created to reward initiatives that facilitate and/or promote Open Access Scholarly Monographs in the humanities or social sciences. This is in line with IFLA’s stated position on Open Access, which aims to promote open access across its membership. This is also in line with Brill’s open access policy. “Open Access” in the context of this award refers to any structural publication model, where the reader does not have to pay a fee to access the leading version of a monograph and where the content is made available without embargo.

The award will be given to the person/institute behind the initiative in recognition of outstanding work and effort in facilitating, promoting, advocating, raising awareness in regard to and/or disseminating Open Access Scholarly Monographs published with an open license.

In 2013 the award was given to Open Book Publishers, Cambridge (UK). In 2014, the award winner was Knowledge Unlatched, London (UK).

The prize consists of:

  • Cash prize (€ 1000)
  • IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) 2015 registration (€ 500)
  • Travel to and accommodation at the IFLA WLIC in Cape Town, South Africa (up to a maximum of € 1500)
  • The winner will be invited to attend IFLA Cape Town in person, or may identify a person to collect the prize on their behalf.

The winner is responsible for registering for the congress, and booking own travel and accommodation. Reimbursement of costs will be arranged between the winner and the Brill/IFLA contact persons.

The following groups are eligible:

  • Initiatives that facilitate and/or promote Open Access scholarly monographs such as projects or organisations
  • Individuals who have authored, facilitated or promoted Open Access scholarly monographs

Nominees can be suggested by the owners of the project, but also by third parties, e.g. by authors, who published their monograph in the framework of the OA initiative.   

Application procedure:

Applications should be submitted to the identified contact persons below. They should include a text of max 1 A4 page which contains:

  • An explanation of how far the proposed initiative facilitates and/or promotes Open Access Scholarly Monographs.
  • Name and contact details of nominated project
  • Name and contact details of nominator (if different)

Deadline for submissions: 30 April 2015

Applications to be sent to: Julia Brungs

About IFLA (

IFLA: The trusted global voice of the library and information profession

The International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) is the leading international body representing the interests of library and information services and their users. IFLA is an independent, non-governmental, not-for-profit organization with over 1400 members in 150 countries. Guided by our Strategic Plan 2010-2015 and Key Initiatives, we work to improve access to information and cultural heritage resources for the global community in this rapidly changing digital and print environment

About Brill (
Founded in 1683 in Leiden, the Netherlands, BRILL is a leading international academic publisher in the fields of Ancient Near East and Egypt, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval and Early Modern Studies, contemporary History and History of War studies, Biblical and Religious Studies, Slavic Studies, Language & Linguistics, Biology, Human Rights and Public International Law. With offices in Leiden and Boston, BRILL today publishes more than 175 journals and around 600 new books and reference works each year. All publications are available in both print and electronic form. BRILL also markets a large number of research collections and databases with primary source material. The company’s key customers are academic and research institutions, libraries, and scholars. BRILL is a publicly traded company and is listed on Euronext Amsterdam NV.