Frequently Asked Questions


Does my Library have to be a member of IFLA to enter the Public Library of the Year Awards?
No, entry is open to any public library that is either newly built or established in premises that have not previously been used for libraries and has have been completed and opened in the period from 1 January 2015 to 31 December 2017.It is not necessary for the Library to be a member of IFLA (though you might like to consider joining!)

Does it cost anything to enter?
No, entry is free but please ensure that you complete the application in full to be considered for the Award

Is the Award only open to Public Libraries?
We know that everyone would love to be involved but at this stage these Awards are only for Public Libraries

When do Nominations close?
Nominations close on 31 May 2018. No late entries will be accepted.

Who Judges the Awards?
The jury comprises representatives from the 3 IFLA Sections who have partnered with our sponsors, Systematic, to deliver these awards. They are IFLAs Public Libraries, Metropolitan Libraries and Library Buildings and Equipment Sections. Jury members have great experience in the public library and architectural environment and are geographically dispersed.

When will the Award be Announced and Presented?
It will be announced as part of the Public Library of the Year Session at the IFLA WLIC in Kuala Lumpur. This session is tentatively set for 28 August 2018 (TBC). Finalists will be advised

Tell me more about the Award?
Our sponsor, Systematic, will give $US5,000 in prize money to the winning library. Short listed libraries (4) will receive a certificate.

Is any financial support provided for the winner to attend the IFLA WLIC in Kuala Lumpur?
The winning library may decide to use the prize money of $US towards their travel to IFLA in Kuala Lumpur

How do I enter?
Use the online application form to enter 

Last update: 9 March 2018