Congress theme: “Open access to knowledge - promoting sustainable progress”

Honours and Awards at the Closing Session

During the Closing Session on 15 August, IFLA President Ellen Tise and IFLA Professional Committee Chair Patrice Landry handed out the following honours and awards:


IFLA Honorary Fellow

Claudia Lux


IFLA's Governing Board confers an Honorary Fellowship on a person who has delivered long and distinguished service to IFLA.



Newsletter of the Year Award 2010

Library Services to Multicultural Populations Section Newsletter


Since 2002, IFLA has given this award to one of its Sections.


Best IFLA Poster Session 2010

African Water Information and Documentation System (African WIS) Presenter: Kabou Kamboukadio, Burkina Faso


Criteria for this award is based upon the following: Relevance to theme, Visual appeal, and Impact on target audience


IFLA Medal

Elizabet M. Ramos de Carvalho

For her significant contribution to IFLA as the Regional Manager and in promoting the Latin America and Caribbean region.



For its significant contribution to IFLA as the worldwide host for the IFLA website from 2002 to 2009.


The IFLA Medal is awarded to a person or organisation that has made a distinguished contribution either to IFLA or to the international librarianship.


IFLA Scroll of Appreciation

Swedish National Committee

In grateful recognition to the National Committee of the IFLA World Library and Information Congress 76th IFLA General Conference and Assembly Gothenburg, Sweden, 2010.


The IFLA Scroll of Appreciation is awarded annually by the IFLA Governing Board to the IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) National Committee for that year or to an individual who has given distinguished service to IFLA.


Additional photos of recipients are available on the Closing Session page in the Gallery.