Congress theme: “Libraries Now! - Inspiring, Surprising, Empowering”

Honours and Awards at the Closing Session

Deutsch | français | Español | Русский | العربية | 中文

During the Closing Session on 16 August, IFLA President Ingrid Parent and IFLA Professional Committee Chair Ann Okerson conferred the following honours and awards:

IFLA Honorary Fellow

Awarded to:

Ellen R. Tise

IFLA President, 2009-2011

In recognition of her leadership at the national, regional and international levels for IFLA and African librarianship.

Winston Tabb

Chair, IFLA Committee on Copyright and other Legal Matters, 2007-2011
In recognition of his outstanding achievements within his service to IFLA and which have brought distinction to IFLA in the international arena, particularly in his leadership on international copyright matters.


Honorary Fellow is IFLA's highest award, and is awarded on the basis of merit.  The Governing Board confers an Honorary Fellowship on a person who has delivered long and distinguished service to IFLA

IFLA Medal

Awarded to:

Jay Jordan

President and Chief Executive Officer

For the significant contribution made to IFLA and international librarianship through his leadership in the globalisation of library services and dedicated support for the Jay Jordan IFLA/OCLC Early Career Fellowship Program.

Eeva Kristiina Murtomaa

National Library of Finland

For the significant contribution made to IFLA and international librarianship through her work in improving bibliographic standards and the development of new cataloguing and authority models.

Helena Asamoah-Hassan

University Librarian
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology

For the significant contribution made to IFLA and international librarianship through her work in building bridges across Africa and between African countries and the rest of the world.


The IFLA Medal is awarded to a person or organisation that has made a distinguished contribution either to IFLA or to the international librarianship

IFLA Scroll of Appreciation

In grateful recognition to the:

National Committee

IFLA World Library and Information Congress 78th IFLA General Conference and Assembly

Maija Berndtson, Chair, Helsinki National Committee accepted the award

Michael Heaney

For his leadership and advocacy in placing library statistics onto the international agenda through IFLA and UNESCO activities

Magda Bouwens

For her achievements in administering IFLA’s governance activities and loyal support for Presidents, Governing Boards and officers

The IFLA Scroll of Appreciation is awarded annually by the IFLA Governing Board to the IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) National Committee for that year or to an individual who has given distinguished service to IFLA.

IFLA Communicator of the Year 2012 

Awarded this year to:

Jérôme Fronty

As a follow-up to the IFLA Newsletter of the Year award, the IFLA Communicator of the Year award is based upon the following criteria:

  • The use of social technology on the website pages
  • The implementation of social technology in the website pages
  • The innovative way of conference or group profiling
  • The extension of outreach to a large audience that the group is able to establish
  • The use of multilingualism, inclusiveness and aesthetics/attractiveness.
  • The activities awarded will have to be identified for the year (12 months) between the IFLA conferences.

Best IFLA Poster Session 2012 

Awarded this year to:

Gerhard Peschers


for his Poster Session

Prison libraries now!


Criteria for this award is based upon:

  • Content
  • Appearance
  • Informative quality
  • Presentation