15 January 2013

New grant for WLIC 2013 announced: IFLA/Brill Open Access award


Open Book Publishers wins the IFLA/Brill Open Access Award

Leiden (NL) / Boston (MA) – 31 May 2013

IFLA and Brill are pleased to announce that Open Book Publishers, Cambridge (United Kingdom) is the winner of the IFLA/Brill Open Access Award for initiatives in the area of open access monograph publishing.

See the Press Release for complete details.

Brill and IFLA are pleased to announce the new Brill/IFLA Open Access award.

The IFLA/Brill Open Access award is created to reward initiatives that facilitate and/or promote Open Access Scholarly Monographs in the humanities or social sciences. This is in line with IFLA’s stated position on Open Access, which aims to promote open access across its membership. This is also in line with Brill’s open access policy. “Open Access” in the context of this award refers to any structural publication model, where the reader does not have to pay a fee to access the leading version of a monograph and where the content is made available without embargo.

The award will be given to the person/institute/organization behind the initiative in recognition of outstanding work and effort in facilitating, promoting, advocating, raising awareness in regard to and/or disseminating Open Access Scholarly Monographs published with an open license.

The award ceremony will take place during IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) 2013 in Singapore. The winner will be invited to attend WLIC, represented by one person.

The prize consists of:

  • Cash prize (€ 1000)
  • Cash prize (€ 1000)
  • Registration of one person for IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) 2013  (€ 500)
  • Travel to and accommodation to the IFLA WLIC in Singapore for one person (up to a maximum of € 1500)

The winner is responsible for registering for the congress, and booking own travel and accommodation. Reimbursement of the above-mentioned costs will be arranged between the winner and the Brill/IFLA contact persons.

The following groups are eligible:

  • Initiatives that facilitate and/or promote Open Access scholarly monographs such as projects or organisations
  • Individuals who have authored, facilitated or promoted Open Access scholarly monographs

Nominees can be suggested by the owners of the project, but also by third parties, e.g. by authors, who published their monograph in the framework of the OA initiative.   

Application procedure: 

Applications should be submitted to the identified contact person below. They should include a text of max 1 A4 page which contains:

  • An explanation of how far the proposed initiative facilitates and/or promotes Open Access Scholarly Monographs.
  • Name and contact details of nominated project
  • Name and contact details of nominator (if different)

Deadline for submissions: 30 April 2013

Decision communicated to winner on: 31 May 2013

Applications to be sent to:  stuart.hamilton@ifla.org