21 August 2014

Honours and Awards at the Closing Session

Русский | français | Deutsch | Español | 简体中文 | العربية

IFLA WLIC 2014 Closing Session

During the Closing Session on 21 August, IFLA President Sinikka Sipilä and IFLA Professional Committee Chair Lynne Rudasill conferred the following honours and awards:

IFLA Scroll of Appreciation

Bruno Racine, Chair of the IFLA Lyon National Committee

In grateful recognition to the:

National Committee
IFLA World Library and Information Congress 80th IFLA General Conference and Assembly

Bruno Racine, Chair of the IFLA Lyon National Committee accepted the award

Réjean SavardRéjean Savard

In grateful recognition for his distinguished service to IFLA, particularly his commitment to IFLA activities, committees, and francophone interests over many years

IFLA Medal

Pascal Sanz Pascal Sanz

In recognition of his distinguished contribution to IFLA, to international librarianship, and as an advocate for multilingualism as a way of opening up opportunities for greater participation in librarianship globally.

Peter J. LorPeter J. Lor

In recognition of his distinguished contribution to IFLA and library and information services in South Africa, in Africa and globally as an academic, practitioner and manager.

Bibliothèque Nationale de France (Bruno Racine)Bibliothèque Nationale de France

In recognition of the distinguished contribution of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France to IFLA through its hosting of the IFLA Strategic Programme on Preservation and Conservation (PAC) from 1992 to 2013, and the contribution this has made to the theoretical discussion and practice of preservation and conservation in librarianship internationally.

Bruno Racine, President of the National Library of France accepted the award

Jesus LauJesus Lau

In recognition of his distinguished contribution to IFLA and international librarianship, particularly in advancing information literacy as a critical skill.

IFLA Honorary Fellow

Alex ByrneAlex Byrne

In recognition of his outstanding achievements within service to IFLA and which have brought distinction to IFLA in the international arena, particularly through his leadership internationally to promote freedom of access to information and to fight censorship.

Library Theory and Research Section (Raphaëlle Bats)IFLA Professional Unit Communication Award

Awarded this year to:

Library Theory and Research Section (Raphaëlle Bats)

ALIA (Australian Library and Information Association) Future of the ProfessionJudy BrookerBest IFLA Poster 2014

Awarded this year to:

Judy Brooker

for Poster #16

ALIA (Australian Library and Information Association): Future of the Profession

Last update: 3 September 2014