2 February 2015

Call for submissions for the 2015 IFLA/Brill Open Access award

IFLA and Brill are pleased to announce the 2015 IFLA/Brill Open Access award.

The IFLA/Brill Open Access award is created to reward initiatives that facilitate and/or promote Open Access Scholarly Monographs in the humanities or social sciences. This is in line with IFLA’s stated position on Open Access, which aims to promote open access across its membership. This is also in line with Brill’s open access policy. “Open Access” in the context of this award refers to any structural publication model, where the reader does not have to pay a fee to access the leading version of a monograph and where the content is made available without embargo.

The award will be given to the person/institute behind the initiative in recognition of outstanding work and effort in facilitating, promoting, advocating, raising awareness in regard to and/or disseminating Open Access Scholarly Monographs published with an open license.

In 2013 the award was given to Open Book Publishers, Cambridge (UK). In 2014, the award winner was Knowledge Unlatched, London (UK).

The prize consists of:

  • Cash prize (€ 1000)
  • IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) 2015 registration (€ 500)
  • Travel to and accommodation at the IFLA WLIC in Cape Town, South Africa (up to a maximum of € 1500)
  • The winner will be invited to attend IFLA Cape Town in person, or may identify a person to collect the prize on their behalf.

The winner is responsible for registering for the congress, and booking own travel and accommodation. Reimbursement of costs will be arranged between the winner and the Brill/IFLA contact persons.

The following groups are eligible:

  • Initiatives that facilitate and/or promote Open Access scholarly monographs such as projects or organisations
  • Individuals who have authored, facilitated or promoted Open Access scholarly monographs

Nominees can be suggested by the owners of the project, but also by third parties, e.g. by authors, who published their monograph in the framework of the OA initiative.

Application procedure:

Applications should be submitted to the identified contact persons below. They should include a text of max 1 A4 page which contains:

  • An explanation of how far the proposed initiative facilitates and/or promotes Open Access Scholarly Monographs.
  • Name and contact details of nominated project
  • Name and contact details of nominator (if different)

Deadline for submissions: 30 April 2015

Applications to be sent to: Julia Brungs

Last update: 2 February 2015