Governing Board

IFLA's Governing Board (GB) is responsible for the governance and financial and professional directions of IFLA, and represents the Federation in legal and other formal proceedings.

The Board consists of the President, the President-elect, ten directly elected members, the Chair of the Professional Committee, the Chairs of each IFLA Division, and the Chair of the Management of Library Associations Section's Standing Committee.

Up to three further GB members may be co-opted to provide expertise or represent special interests. IFLA's Secretary General, who serves as the Board's Secretary, is an ex officio member.


Ingrid Parent
University Librarian
University of British Columbia, Irving K. Barber Learning Centre
1961 East Mall
V6T 1Z1 Vancouver, B.C.
Work +(1)604-827-3486

President Elect 2011-2013

Sinikka Sipilä
Secretary General
Finnish Library Association
Runeberginkatu 15 A 23
00100 Helsinki
Work +(358)(9)6221399
Fax +(358)(9)6221466


Helena R. Asamoah-Hassan
University Librarian
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, KNUST Library
Work +(233)(51)60133
Fax +(233)(51)60137


Danielle Mincio
Head of Manuscript Collections
Bibliothèque Cantonale et Universitaire
CH-1015 Lausanne - Dorigny
Work +(41)(21)6924802
Fax +(41)(21)6924845


Qiang Zhu
Peking University Library
No. 5 Yiheyuan Lu, Haidan District
100871 Beijing
Work +86-10-62759055
Fax +86-10-62761008

Chair Division III

Tone Eli Moseid
POB 8145 DEP
N-0033 Oslo
Work +(47)23117500
Fax +(47)23117501


Donna Scheeder
Deputy Chief Information Officer
Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress
101 Independence Ave. S.E.
20540-7500 Washington DC
United States
Work +(1)(202)7078939
Fax +(1)(202)7071820


Paul Whitney
City Librarian
Vancouver Public Library
350 West Georgia Street, Level 7
V6B 6B1 Vancouver
British Columbia, Canada
Work +(1 ) 604-331-4007
Fax +(1) 604-331-4080


Pascal Sanz
Directeur, Département Droit, économie, politique
Bibliothèque nationale de France
Quai François Mauriac
75706 Paris CEDEX 13
Work +(33)(1)53795100
Fax +(33)(1)53795125

Chair Division V

Buhle Mbambo-Thata
Executive Director
UNISA, Library Services
P.O. Box 392
0003 Pretoria
South Africa
Work +(27)(12)4293131 / 4293844
Fax +(27)(12)4292925

Chair Professional Committee

Ann Okerson
Associate University Librarian for Collections & International Programs
Yale University Library, Sterling Memorial Library
P.O. BOX 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
United States
Work +(1)(203)4321764
Fax +(1)(203)4327231

Chair Division I

Lynne M. Rudasill
Associate Professor of Library Administration
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
306 International Studies Bldg, MC-402, 910 South Fifth Street
Champaign, Il 61820
United States
Work +(1)(217)2656879
Fax +(1)(217)3336270

Chair Division II

Philippe Cantié
Head of ISSN France Center
Bibliothèque nationale de France
75013 Paris
Work +(33)(1)53795447
Fax +(33)(1)53798556

Chair Division IV

Anna Maria Tammaro
University of Parma
Via Montebeni, 9
I-50014 Fiesole (FI)
Work +(39)(055)697585
Fax +(39)(055)902365

Chair Division V

Filiberto Felipe Martínez-Arellano
Director University Center for Library Science Research
National Autonomous University of Mexico
Torre II de Humanidades, Piso 12, CD Universitaria
04510 DF Mexico City
Work +(52)(55)56230327
Fax +(52)(55)55507461

Chair Management of Library Associations Section

Janice R. Lachance
Chief Executive Officer
Special Libraries Association (SLA)
331 South Patrick Street
VA-22314-3501 Alexandria
United States
Work +(1)(703)647 4933
Fax +(1)(703)647 4901

Secretary General

Jennefer Nicholson
IFLA Headquarters
P.O. Box 95312
2509CH The Hague
The Netherlands
Work +31 70 3140884
Fax +31 70 3834827