20 March 2010

Loida García-Febo receives 2010 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

Loida García-Febo, assistant coordinator of the New Americans
Program & Special Services at the Queens Library (N.Y.), is the 2010
recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Elizabeth Futas
Catalyst for Change Award. This award is given biennially to an
individual for making positive changes in the profession of
librarianship and consists of a 24K gold-framed citation and $1,000
contributed by the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund of the American Library

“The jury for the 2010 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst
for Change Award is pleased to honor Loida García-Febo for her research,
conference presentations and work to recruit and involve new librarians
in professional work, both nationally and internationally,” said Eva M.
Davis, Director, Canton (Mich.) Public Library and Chair of the 2010
Futas Award Committee.

In her current work at Queens and her past
work in Puerto Rico, García-Febo develops programs and services for
older adults, persons with disabilities, immigrants and other
underserved populations.  In her professional association work with the
International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA), American
Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, García-Febo has dedicated
herself to connecting new library professionals to established
librarians and encouraging minority recruitment and retention in the
profession.  García-Febo’s research, presentations, conference planning
and advocacy bridge the gap between new and established librarians on a
national and international scale and have taken her to South Africa, 
Argentina, Japan and Italy.  She was recognized as a 2007 Library
Mover and Shaker as a “Freedom Fighter” who advocates for
the rights foreign-language speaking and other underserved populations
to receive library services equitably.

“The Futas jury was
impressed by the depth of appreciation and respect shown by colleagues
who wrote in support of her nomination for this award,” Davis said. “As
one colleague stated, ‘Loida has been a leader in helping new librarians
grow and achieve and in working for change within the ALA, REFORMA and
IFLA.’” Davis continued, “From a pool of highly-qualified candidates,
the Committee decided that García-Febo’s accomplishments as an agent of
change in libraries, library associations and library publishing and
research best exemplify the qualities of Dr. Elizabeth Futas. We are
pleased to name her the recipient of the 2010 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst
for Change Award.”

Members of the 2010 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst
for Change Award Jury are: Eva M. Davis, Canton (Mich.) Public Library;
Dr. Barbara A. Burd, Coastal Carolina (S.C.) University Libraries;
Georgie Lynn Donovan, Appalachian State University (N.C.) Carol Grotnes
Belk Library & Information Commons; Jane Kessler, University
Libraries, University at Albany, State University of New York; and Amy
E. Wallace, John Spoor Broom Library, California State University
Channel Islands.

The Futas Award will be presented at the ALA
Annual Conference in Washington, D.C., June 24 – 29, 2010.
deadline for submission of applications for the 2012 Elizabeth Futas
Catalyst for Change Award is Dec. 1, 2011. Guidelines and application
forms are available on the ALA Web site: http://www.ala.org,
in the Professional Recognition section under Awards & Grants.

(Source: ALA press release)

New Professionals, Professional development, New professionals

List all IFLA news