Cultural Heritage Programme Advisory Committee

In August 2015 IFLA created the IFLA Cultural Heritage Programme Advisory Committee which oversees and advises on all of IFLA's cultural heritage activities. 

The main role of the Committee is to:

  • Advise the Governing Board  on the strategic priorities and activities of the Cultural Heritage Programme, including the Preservation and Conservation Core Activity
  • Participate in awareness raising of cultural heritage activities to IFLA members and strategic partners
  • Support IFLA’s policy development and advocacy in areas relevant to cultural heritage
  • Liaise with the Governing Board’s Professional Committee on the participation of IFLA’s professional units in cultural heritage activities
  • Advise the Governing Board on the implementation of the  IFLA Principles of Engagement in library-related activities of disaster risk reduction and in times of conflict, crisis or natural disaster

The group has up to eight members. The current term runs from August 2015 - August 2017 and the members of the Committee are:

  • Raissa Teodori (Governing Board representative)
    Senate Library Senato della Repubblica Italiana
    Piazza della Minerva, 38, Rome, Italy
  • Jeanne Drewes (Preservation and Conservation Centre representative)
    Library of Congress 
    101 Independence Avenue, S.E. Washington, D.C. 20540-4500 USA
  • Roslyn Russell (Memory of the World Programme representative) 
    Chair of the UNESCO Australian Memory of the World Committee
  • Ellen Tise (Expert member)
    Library and Information Services at Stellenbosch University
    Victoria St, Stellenbosch, 7599, South Africa
  • Reinhard Altenhöner (Expert member)
    Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin
    Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, 10102 Berlin, Germany
  • Fabiano Cataldo de Azevedo (Expert member)
    Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 
  • Alenka Kavčič-Čolić (Chair Preservation and Conservation Section, ex-officio member)
    Head of Library Research Centre
    National and University Library
  • Gerald Leitner
    IFLA Secretary General (non-voting) 

Cultural heritage

Last update: 7 July 2017