IFLA UNESCO Public Library Manifesto

In July 2022, IFLA and UNESCO announced the launch of a newly updated IFLA-UNESCO Public Library Manifesto. This update is intended to ensure that the Manifesto continues to reflect the realities and mission of public libraries today.

The most recent update was made possible by IFLA’s Public Library Section, with support from the UNESCO Information for All Programme (IFAP). A global surveying process was carried out to inform the update with input from library professionals around the world.

See: The IFLA-UNESCO Public Library Manifesto 2022 (and translations)

Public Library of the Year Award (PLOTY)

The annual Public Library of the Year award honours new public libraries. The award is presented to a library somewhere in the world that has best managed to combine open and functional architecture with creative IT solutions and has included both digital developments and local culture. To be eligible for the award, the library must be newly built or located in buildings that have not previously been used as a library. Prize money of USD $5,000 is awarded to the winning library.

The 2023 winner was announced at the 88th IFLA Congress in Rotterdam, where Biblioteca Gabriel García Márquez (Spain) received the award.

Project Page

Review of the IFLA Public Library Service Standards

A key strategic project for the Section is to review the current Public Library Service Standards to ensure they remain relevant and useful for public libraries globally. The Public Library Service Standards were last reviewed in 2010 and there have been significant developments in public library practice together with community expectations in the past 10 years. The ongoing impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic since have also shaped and influenced public libraries at both an operational and strategic level. This project is ongoing and is expected to be completed in 2024.

Past Projects