A corto di libri                     AIB       IFLA



Win € 1000 of video-making equipment! Apply for the 2016 AIB/IFLA international short film competition about libraries.

The IFLA Section on Metropolitan Libraries and AIB (Associazione Italiana Biblioteche), in collaboration with Regione Umbria, Gallucci editore, MediaLibraryOnLine and Del Vecchio editore, have the pleasure to announce A Corto di Libri, AIB/IFLA International Short Film Competition about Libraries for 2016.

“A Corto di Libri” honors short films which focus on libraries and the profession of librarian. Four winners will be chosen in the “Fiction”, “Documentary” and “Advertising” sections, and in the new IFLA prize “Metropolitan Libraries” whose main subject must be public libraries of large urban areas.

Various awards will be awarded to the sections winners and an award of €1000 of video-making equipment will be awarded to the winner of the IFLA  “Metropolitan Libraries” category.

The winners will be announced officially on May 15, 2016, at the 28th International Book Fair in Turin (Italy).

Deadline: April 30, 2016 

Entries must 

  • be in one of the following formats: mp4 or avi;
  • be a maximum of twenty (20) minutes in length for the Fiction and Documentary sections, and for the “Metropolitan Libraries”category; 
  • be a maximum of two (2) minutes for the Advertisement section;
  • be licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY4.0 license;
  • use music, images and films in the public domain or created for the film or include a signed release from the rights holder; the entrant must obtain permission from each child or under-18 years old who appears in the film.

Entries for the "Metropolitan Libraries" category must be in English or have English subtitles or be accompanied by a text sheet in English.

The Award Jury, headed by film critic Fabio Melelli, includes members of the Standing Committees of the IFLA Section on Metropolitan Libraries and the Section on Public Libraries.

Contact: [email protected] 

Apply for the Award

See previous years' winners