de Gruyter logo
IFLA logo

Sven Fund, Managing Director of De Gruyter Saur
Jennefer Nicholson, IFLA Secretary General

Invite submissions of papers for the
De Gruyter Saur / IFLA Research Paper Award 2010

This is an annual award for the best research paper on a topic of importance to publishing and access to information.

This year’s topic is Digital Libraries

with subthemes:

  • the digitisation process
  • access to digital information
  • preservation of digital material
  • use and users of the digital library

The award is aimed at encouraging research and publication by those relatively new to the profession. Those with no more than eight years of professional experience in library and information services are eligible.

The award is an amount of EUR 1.000 (one thousand euros)

The selected paper must have been written between January and December 2009 and not to have been published. The paper’s maximum length should be app. 5,000 words and should be submitted in English.

The recipient is required to present a paper based on the research in at least one national or international conference in the two year period from the commencement of the award: August 2010 – August 2012. Due acknowledgement must be given to the De Gruyter Saur award.

The selection panel for the award comprises representatives from both IFLA and De Gruyter Saur. All applicants will be required to give De Gruyter Saur the right to publish their submitted paper.

Both IFLA and De Gruyter Saur will announce and further publicise the award via their websites, relevant mailing lists, journals and newsletters, press conferences, news releases etc.

The recipient of the award will be announced at the President’s Lunch during the IFLA World Library and Information Congress in Gothenburg, August 2010. If the recipient is attending this Congress s/he will also be invited to the President’s Lunch.

Papers, accompanied by the completed application form, must be submitted by 31 March 2010. Incomplete application forms will not be considered and the decisions of the jury are final.