I am pleased to announce that following the recent elections the IFLA Governing Board 2021-2023, to be led by incoming President Barbara Lison, will have the following members:


Antonia Arahova (Greece)


Perry Moree (Netherlands)

Governing Board Member at Large:

  1. Kirsten Boelt (Denmark) 1st Term
  2. Jonathan Herández Pérez (Mexico) 2nd Term
  3. Mandla Ntombela (South Africa) 1st Term
  4. Ayub Khan (United Kingdom) 1st Term
  5. Yasuyo Inoue (Japan) 1st Term

Ex-officio members of the Board:

Chair of the Regional Council: Nthabiseng Kotsokoane (South Africa)

Chair of the Professional Council: To be announced on 14 June.

Chair of the Management of Library Associations Section: To be elected by August.

The Governing Board 2021-2023 will take office on 26 August 2021.

See more: IFLA Elections 2021 results

My congratulations to those elected, and to all candidates for their strong commitment to IFLA and willingness to participate in building the future of our field.

Gerald Leitner
Secretary General
The Hague, The Netherlands
27 May 2021