General information for IFLA Members

IFLA Headquarters dispatched ballot papers and supporting documents for its Governing Board Elections 2019-2021 to all Voting Members on 22 February 2019. We are encouraged to see the number of viable candidates standing for elections increase with each election cycle and this year we have almost double that of the previous cycle.

As you know, IFLA is on a journey to extend its reach and impact, and for this it needs energetic, committed and highly-competent individuals to serve on its Governing Board. Their skills and experience should represent all library types, professional specialisations and global regions.

With a new IFLA Strategic Framework on the way, these elections are extremely important for the future governance of IFLA. Take advantage of your IFLA Membership and exercise your right to vote!

For IFLA Members to cast ballots, please complete and return the original ballot paper. For the ballot to be valid, it must be signed by the authorised representative of the IFLA Member organisation or association. Only those Members who have paid their membership fees in full and who are not in arrears, are eligible to vote in these elections.

Ballot papers may be sent by email in PDF format, FAX, or post:

[email protected]

+31 70 3834827


P.O. Box 95312
2509 CH The Hague
The Netherlands


The deadline for Governing Board elections is the close of business on 19 April 2019.

Candidates for the position of IFLA Governing Board Member 2019-2021


(22 Candidates, 10 places)

  • Nafisah Binti Ahmad (Malaysia)
  • Antonia Arahova (Greece) 2nd Term
  • Huanwen Cheng (China) 2nd Term
  • Michael Dowling (United States) 2nd Term
  • Vadim Duda (Russian Federation)
  • Marwa El Sahn (Egypt) 2nd Term
  • Janet Fletcher (New Zealand)
  • Tomasz Gruszkowski (Poland)
  • Renaldas Gudauskas (Lithuania)
  • Jonathan Hernández-Pérez (Mexico)
  • Lisa Hinchliffe (United States)
  • Franck Hurinville (France)
  • Ayub Khan (United Kingdom)
  • Diane Koen (Canada)
  • Torbjörn Nilsson (Sweden) 2nd Term
  • Rocky Ralebipi-Simela (South Africa)
  • Knud Schulz (Denmark) 2nd Term
  • Sueli Mara Soares Pinto Ferreira (Brazil) 2nd Term
  • Silvia Stasselová (Slovakia)
  • Ai Cheng Tay (Singapore)
  • Minna von Zansen (Finland)
  • Maja Žumer (Slovenia) 2nd Term

Candidate details

Complete information on all Candidates is available in our elections booklet:

We are looking forward to receiving your votes!


Gerald Leitner
Secretary General