IFLA’s Professional Units offer Grants and Professional Awards in honour of excellence in their sectors.  A few of these awards were highlighted at this year’s WLIC Unit Awards Session.  In addition to the Unit awards, the Dynamic Unit and Impact Award for 2020 and for 2021 were featured.

ARL Attendance Grants

The IFLA Academic and Research Libraries Section (ARL) Attendance Grants are aimed at enabling successful candidates from IFLA’s regions to attend an IFLA Congress for the first time. The IFLA ARL Section, with generous sponsorship from SAGE Publishing, has awarded attendance grants to four information professionals through a competitive application process. This year’s winners are:

  • Andrew Ojulong, Uganda
  • Nessel Noé, Argentina
  • Gianina Angela Celine O. Cabanilla, Philippines
  • Andrea Doyle, Brazil

IFLA PressReader International Marketing Award

Since 2019, the IFLA Section on Management and Marketing has partnered with PressReader for the IFLA PressReader International Marketing Award. The award recognises creative, results-oriented marketing projects or campaigns. Each year, three finalists are selected based on innovative marketing contributions in the library field.

The IFLA Management and Marketing Section, with generous sponsorship from PressReader, has awarded the following libraries with this honour for 2021:

Other Professional Awards, which will be announced tomorrow during the Conference, include the ENSULIB Green Library Award and IFLA Systematic Public Library of the Year Award. We thank the sponsors of these awards for their continued support.

To recognise the vital contribution and work of our Professional Units, IFLA’s Professional Committee launched the IFLA Dynamic Unit and Impact Award in 2018. Now in its third year, this award recognises the success of IFLA’s Professional Units in achieving the expectations of a dynamic unit, as defined by the Professional Committee.

Dynamic Unit and Impact Award 2020 and 2021

In 2020, the following were awarded with the Dynamic Unit and Impact Award (DUIA) 2020:

  • Winner: Document Delivery and Resource Sharing
  • Special Mention for Outreach and Advocacy: Academic and Research Libraries
  • Special Mention for Communications and Membership: Continuing Professional Development and Workplace Learning

The first Unit awarded with a 2021 DUIA Special Mention for Quality and Impact of the Work was awarded to the Section on Education and Training, and a Special Mention for Facilitating Effective Communication has been awarded to the Library Services for Children and Young Adults Section.

The winner of the IFLA Dynamic Unit and Impact Award 2021 is the Academic and Research Libraries Section.

Thank you to all who nominated for the Dynamic Unit Award and Impact and the diverse range of Professional Awards this year.