Following elections among incoming members of IFLA’s new Regional Division Committees, the identities of the people who will lead their work over the coming two years is now known.

These Committees – a key innovation in IFLA’s governance review – have a mandate not only to strengthen the voice of regions within IFLA, but also to make the voice of libraries louder within decision-making around the world.

Responding to regional priorities, they will work to develop and deliver action plans that strengthen capacity and add value for IFLA’s Members and the wider library field, around the world.

We are therefore happy to announce that the following candidates have been successful:


Asia Oceania

Chair: Winston Roberts (New Zealand)

Vice-Chair: Debal Kar (India)



Chair: Stuart Hamilton (Ireland)

Vice-Chair: Frédéric Blin (France)


Latin America and the Caribbean

Chair: Alejandro Santa (Argentina)

Vice-Chair: Georgina Torres (Mexico)


Middle East and North Africa

Chair: Imad Bachir (Lebanon)

Vice-Chair: Abeer Al-Kuwari (Qatar)


North America

Chair: Julius Jefferson (United States)

Vice-Chair: Christina de Castell (Canada)


Sub-Saharan Africa

Chair: Sarah Kaddu (Uganda)

Vice-Chair: Ayanda Lebele (Botswana)


I congratulate all of the successful candidates, and thank all those who stood for election for their commitment to IFLA.

Kind regards,

Gerald Leitner
Secretary General
The Hague, Netherlands
4 August 2021

Discover the full lists of members of IFLA’s Regional Division Committees 2021-2023.