IFLA has pleasure in announcing the result of the count of the nominations received for IFLA President-elect 2017-2019.

The nominations received were as follows:

  • Christine Mackenzie (Australia) 66 nominations
  • Te Paea Taiuru (New Zealand) 9 nominations
  • Emir José Suaiden (Brazil) 1 nomination

Christine MackenzieNominees required at least 10 nominations in order to be part of an election ballot. This year only one nominee has sufficient nominations and no election is required.

Christine Mackenzie is therefore automatically elected to serve as President-elect for the term 2017-2019 and to serve as President for the term 2019-2021.

Drs. J.J.M. Bos and Drs. T. de Boer, independent scrutineers, are satisfied that the above result is correct, following an accurate count of the nominations received at IFLA Headquarters by the deadline of 28 February 2017.

Gerald Leitner
Secretary General

The Hague, Netherlands
14 March 2017