Does my Library have to be a member of IFLA to enter the Public Library of the Year Awards?

No, entry is open to any public library that is either newly built or established in premises that have not previously been used for libraries and has have been completed and opened in the period from 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2021. It is not necessary for the library to be a member of IFLA (though you might like to consider joining!)

Does it cost anything to enter?

No, entry is free, but please ensure that you complete the application in full and with attached files of floorplans and photos of your library to be considered for the award.

Is the Award only open to Public Libraries?

We know that everyone would love to be involved, but at this stage this award is only for Public Libraries.

When do Nominations close?

Nominations close on 16 May 2022. No late entries will be accepted.

Who Judges the Awards?

The jury comprises representatives from the three IFLA Sections, who have partnered with our sponsors, Systematic, to deliver this award. These are the Public Libraries, Metropolitan Libraries and Library Buildings and Equipment Sections. The Jury members all have great experience in the public library and architectural environment and are geographically dispersed.

When will the Award be Announced and Presented?

The award will be presented in conjunction with the IFLA conference WLIC in July 2022. Finalists will be informed and are expected to attend the award ceremony.

Tell me more about the Award?

Our sponsor, Systematic, will give $USD 5,000 in prize money to the winning library. Shortlisted libraries will receive a certificate.

How do I enter? Use the online application form, which will be available from 14th February 2022.