IFLA is a global organisation with a diverse membership. IFLA has seven official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Russian, and Spanish) and seeks to have its key documents available in these languages.

As a non-profit organisation, IFLA greatly appreciates the contributions of its four official Language Centres: Arabic, Chinese, French and Russian and their host institutions. The Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean contributes to translations into Spanish.

The mission of the Centres is to contribute to more effective communication within their language communities and with any involved IFLA bodies.

These activities include the publication and/or translation of: