IFLA’s President leads the Federation and represents IFLA and the world’s library and information profession internationally. The President chairs the Governing Board and presides over General Assembly meetings which are held at the annual IFLA Congress.

Since 2003, IFLA Presidents have served 2-year terms, following two years as President-elect.

Barbara Lison, 2021-2023

Barbara Lison

Christine Mackenzie, 2019-2021

Glòria Pérez-Salmerón, 2017-2019

Donna Scheeder, 2015-2017

Sinikka Sipilä, (2013-2015)

Ingrid Parent, 2011-2013

Ellen Tise, 2009-2011

Claudia Lux, 2007-2009

  • Theme: Libraries on the Agenda

Alex Byrne, 2005-2007

Kay Raseroka, 2003-2005

Christine Deschamps, 1997-2003

Robert Wedgeworth, 1991-1997

Hans-Peter Geh, 1985-1991

Else Granheim, 1979-1985

Preben Kirkegaard, 1974-1979

Herman Liebaers, 1969-1974

Sir Frank Francis, 1963-1969

Gustav Hofmann, 1958-1963

Pierre Bourgeois, 1951-1958

Wilhelm Munthe, 1947-1951

Marcel Godet, 1936-1947

William Warner Bishop, 1931-1936

Isak G.A. Collijn, 1927-1931